N.Y. Will Impose Quarantine on Visitors from States With Big Outbreaks

Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo announced on Wednesday that New York and two neighbouring states would begin requiring certain out-of-state visitors entering their states to quarantine for two weeks upon arrival.

The restrictions, which also cover New Jersey and Connecticut, will be based on specific health metrics related to the coronavirus, Mr. Cuomo said. At the moment, travellers from nine states would be required to quarantine, mostly from the south, including Florida, Texas and Arizona.

The order takes effect at midnight, Mr. Cuomo said on Wednesday, a quick implementation aimed at preventing a rush of travellers hoping to avoid the requirement.

Nearly 20,000 people tested positive for the virus in Florida over the last five days ending Tuesday; in New York, where far more people are being tested daily, roughly 3,200 did during that period.

The new quarantine requirement in New York, New Jersey and Connecticut would apply to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents, or a state with a 10 per cent or higher rate over a seven-day rolling average.

Currently, Mr. Cuomo said, those metrics would apply to Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, South Carolina, North Carolina, Utah, Texas and Washington.

No comments

Leave a reply

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *