New Board At Edna Manley College


Marigold Harding remains as chairperson of the new Board of the Edna Manley College of the Visual and Performing Arts. Donahue Martin is vice-chairman.


The new 14-member Board was announced Wednesday, September 4 by acting Minister of Education, Youth and Information, Karl Samuda. The other members are Dr. L’Antoinette Stines, Dr. Tamika Benjamin, Professor Silvia Kouwenberg, Coleen Douglas, Dorraine Reid, Kachine Martin, Emprezz Golding, Winston Ewart, Winston McKain, Jo-Anne Archibald, Alison Dixon Stone, and Dr. Nicholeen Degrasse – ex officio.


The Board will serve for three years and the appointments take immediate effect.


There has been concern recently about events at the college in St Andrew following several newspaper articles arising out of allegations by a few students that they were sexually harassed. They claim to have reported the matter and nothing much was done about it. Questions have been asked about the leadership of the administration and also of the college.


In announcing the names of members of the Board, Mr Samuda said:

“The Board will take appropriate steps that are required consistent with government policy, and we get involved at the Ministry level only when it is necessary for us to make the kind of executive decisions that are appropriate. But we don’t interfere with the management of the institutions that are under the control of the Board,” he said.


Franklin McKnight

No comments

Leave a reply

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *